Mother’s Day is right around the corner. Through the years I always enjoyed planning a special meal to cook for my mom and finding that special gift that could never quite convey the depth of my love for her.

I never considered Mother’s Day to be for me, even after I became a mom.  Now that my mom no longer lives here on earth, it has turned into my day. I don’t like it. Not one bit. I don’t like attention turned towards me–I am a “behind the scenes” kind of person and am very uncomfortable being in the limelight. 

You see, it has been a privilege to be a mom to my kids. They are quite wonderful and are world- changers for sure. Why should I get special recognition for what God gave me?  Each one of my heartbeats (as I like to call them) has been gifted to me for a specific purpose and to teach me specific things. As they grow, my love and appreciation for them increases ever the more. They are my forever gifts.

So, every year my family “fights” me on my wish to not celebrate. And every year they win (heavy sigh). Maybe one day I will give in to all of this. But I don’t think it will be anytime soon.

