My husband and I had a few “nevers” when we were first married. One of them being that I would never work full time when we started having kids. We did whatever it took for that to happen. I worked part time here and there at jobs where I could bring my children, but never full time and never away from the kids.

Well, I’m sure that God was smiling on that one because this past weekend marked ten years since God called me to go back to work full time after being home with my children for fourteen years. Ten years of living in our “never.” And yes, I do know for a fact that God called me to this. I saw God totally bring this job to me and He opened the door wide for me to walk through. God used this job to fulfill a need during many medical emergencies in my family as well as provide close friends to walk with me through hard times and cheer my kids on in life.

I wish I could tell you that God provided this job and we all lived happily ever after. It has not been easy and I have had a conversation or two with God about “what does He think He’s doing.” I have begged Him to bring me back home, but the answer is always “no.” But through all of my whining and questioning God has been so gracious to me. Even though I work full-time, my family can still be my priority in a way that I wouldn’t have at any other job, I have found favor with those I report to and I even received a promotion along the way. When I am home, work stays at the office and my organizational skills have served well with keeping the family going and not have the house fall apart.

So now let me ask you–what is your “never” and are you willing to live in Neverland if that is what God wants?

