Every day, 24/7/365, in order to sustain my life, I have to take blood readings from my fingers. This lets me know where I am at medically and what I need to do or not do. I can choose to do the right thing, or ignore the numbers staring at me, which can have disastrous results. It is inconvenient, messy and literally a pain. As a result, I have numerous scars on my fingertips that don’t go away.

But this week I am reminded that what I go through daily is so insignificant when faced with what Jesus went through for me. The blood He shed to sustain my eternal life was an act of sacrifice that I just can’t get over. The beating and bleeding He took for me was inconvenient, messy and literally a pain. For those who doubted or maybe weren’t quite sure, He had scars.

Because I have accepted this sacrifice that Jesus made for me and the more I learn from His readings, He lets me know where I am at spiritually and what I need to do, or not do. Once again, I can choose to do the right thing or ignore the scripture staring at me, which ultimately results in some type of disaster. And even though Jesus knew that I would not always choose the right thing, He still suffered for me.

Amazing.

